This event has expired but is here for your reference.

Ensemble Signal with Rachel Calloway, mezzo-soprano [CONCERT]

  • Date: Mar 15, 2019
  • Time: 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Ensemble Signal
Rachel Calloway, mezzo-soprano 
Brad Lubman, conductor

Ensemble Signal charts a fresh path at the Library in a program a century in the making. Each work on the program is its own highlight: a brand new commission for mixed ensemble by Luca Francesconi, a tribute to Oliver Knussen who passed away unexpectedly this year, and a performance with acclaimed singer Rachel Calloway of Pierrot lunaire, Arnold Schoenberg’s pathbreaking work held in manuscript at the Library.
NB: Due to circumstances beyond our control, the originally announced singer Allison Cook was unable to join us for this performance.

Pre-Concert Conversation with the Arists
6:30 pm–Whittall Pavilion


KNUSSENSongs without Voices

Commissioned by the Dina Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund in the Library of Congress

Pierrot lunaire, op. 21

Additional Ticketing Information

Reserved seats not claimed by five minutes before the scheduled start of the event will be distributed to RUSH patrons. For more information about RUSH visit

For patrons unable to obtain a reservation, we still encourage attendance—while there is no guarantee of seating due to the intimate size of some spaces, patrons are almost always able to be accommodated.

Children must be at least 7 years old for admittance to concert events.

Please request ADA accommodations at least five business days in advance by contacting (202) 707-6362 or

Support free programming at the Library of Congress by joining the Friends of Music.

Ensemble Signal with Rachel Calloway, mezzo-soprano [CONCERT] partner logo
location forEnsemble Signal with Rachel Calloway, mezzo-soprano [CONCERT] Map
  • Coolidge Auditorium, Library of Congress
  • Thomas Jefferson Building
  • Washington, DC 20540