This event has expired but is here for your reference.

Alarm Will Sound [CONCERT]

  • Date: Nov 09, 2018
  • Time: 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Alarm Will Sound
John Orfe, piano
Courtney Orlando, violinAlan Pierson, conductor

Hear the twenty splendid “next generation thinkers” (NPR) of this formidably gifted ensemble in works mostly written for them—music ideally calibrated to show off their “equal parts exuberance, nonchalance, and virtuosity” (Financial Times of London). The evening includes a new Violin Concerto by Oscar Bettison and the premiere of a new Library of Congress commission from Annie Gosfield. The concert centers on a major work by a modern master, the energetic 5-movement piano concerto of György Ligeti.

Pre-Concert Conversation with the Artists
6:30 pm–Whittall Pavilion


LIGETIPiano Concerto

BETTISONViolin Concerto

New Work
Commissioned by the McKim Fund in the Library of Congress

Additional Ticketing Information

Reserved seats not claimed by five minutes before the scheduled start of the event will be distributed to RUSH patrons. For more information about RUSH visit

For patrons unable to obtain a reservation, we still encourage attendance—while there is no guarantee of seating due to the intimate size of some spaces, patrons are almost always able to be accommodated.

Children must be at least 7 years old for admittance to concert events.

Please request ADA accommodations at least five business days in advance by contacting (202) 707-6362 or

Support free programming at the Library of Congress by joining the Friends of Music.

Alarm Will Sound [CONCERT] partner logo
Alarm Will Sound [CONCERT] Map
  • Coolidge Auditorium, Library of Congress
  • Thomas Jefferson Building
  • Washington, DC 20540